DPS You Be the Chemist Challenge winners

Many DPS students across the district participated in the You Be the Chemist competition Tuesday, March 25 at the Michigan Science Center.

The You Be the Chemist challenge is a fun and interactive academic competition that engages students in learning about important chemistry concepts, scientific discoveries and laboratory safety. Competitions are exciting events that take place across the country that educate students about the value of science education and the role of chemistry in their everyday lives.

DPS winners include:
First place – James Yates, Clippert Academy
Prize: Kindle Fire
Teacher – Kathryn Meloche
Prize: $100 to purchase science supplies

Second place – Kasia Rivers, Foreign Language Immersion and Cultural Studies School (FLICS)
Prize: Digital camera
Teacher – LeAnn Peebles

Third place – Montana Travis, Nichols Elementary-Middle School
Prize: $50 gift certificate to Best Buy
Teacher – Sonya Brown

Fourth place – Ricky Patton, Cooke Elementary School
Prize: $50 gift certificate to Best Buy
Teacher – Robin Jennings

Additional DPS participating schools also included:
Ann Arbor Trail Magnet Middle School – Teacher, Valerie Booker-Bryant
Blackwell Institute – Teacher, Barbara Case
Brewer Academy – Teacher, Tamika Morgan, with additional support from Duvette Brown
Burton International Academy – Teacher, Branti Holland
Davison Elementary-Middle School – Teacher, Richard Vanacker, with additional support from Georgetta Johnson
Gompers Elementary-Middle School – Teacher, Derek Sale
Mackenzie Elementary-Middle School – Teacher, Angela Johnson

The first through third place winners will compete in the You Be the Chemist State Regional competition on Saturday, April 26.

This entry was posted in Student Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .