PSL, Catholic League pay tribute to shared excellence at Operation Friendship banquet

The Detroit Public School League and the Catholic League held its 37th annual Operation Friendship banquet Monday at DeCarlo’s in Warren.

Athletes and coaches from both leagues received awards in recognition of their achievements during the 2011-12 school year.

Below is a list of this year’s PSL honorees: (See photos from the banquet by becoming a fan of the Detroit Public School League page on Facebook).





Tiffany Bradford                            Osborn Upper

Renaisa Brown                                Western International

Nadia Cannon                                M.L. King

Brittney Peterson                            Detroit City

Whitney Peterson                           Detroit City

Creiona Posey                                 Cody Upper

Ashley Powell                                 Northwestern

Bre’Anna Robinson                        Southwestern

Dominique Staten                          Osborn Upper

Dorthilen Taylor                             Detroit International Academy

WINNING COACH:  William Winfield, King


CHEERLEADING, Vera Embree Award

Vanessa Ann Graves                     M. L. King

Summer Johnson                            Osborn College Preparatory

Ja’Vonna Shack                              Cody Upper

Chanel Wilkerson                          Pershing

Jylain Winters                                 Communication/Media Arts


CROSS COUNTRY, Christine Whitehead Award

Renasia Brown                                Western International

Montana Flanagan                        M.L. King

Asha Lewis                                      Communication/Media Arts

Ashley Powell                                 Northwestern

Bre’Anna Robinson                        Southwestern

WINNING COACH:  Beth Plumridge, Renaissance

GOLF , Jeanette Nelson, Award

Anteisha D. Dorty                          Denby

Jasmine George                               Renaissance

Nakeadlia Mitchell                        Cody Upper

Creiona Posey                                 Cody Upper

Chanel Wilkerson                          Pershing

WINNING COACH:  Harry Kennedy, Renaissance




SOFTBALL, Mildred Kingsley Award

Kayla Banks                                     Renaissance

Tiffany Bradford                            Osborn Upper

Terricka Byers                                 Crockett

Parris Alexis Owens                      Mumford

Ciera Smith                                      Renaissance

Dominique Staten                          Osborn Upper

Tierra Traylor                                  Cass Technical

Chanel Wilkerson                          Pershing

Tynai Winters                                 Communication/Media Arts

WINNING COACH:  Garrard Taylor, Renaissance


SWIMMING, Delia P. Hussey Award

Miya Mueller                                   Detroit International Academy

Lucero Toral                                    Western International

WINNING COACH:  Eugene Collins, Cass Tech



TENNIS, MI Lee Youngs Award

Gabrielle DeShazer                        Cass Technical

Iman Parker                                     Denby

Lisa Thomas                                    Renaissance

Lucero Toral                                    Western

WINNING COACH:  Clarence Wynn, Cass Tech, Div I

Rodney Wray, Osborn-Div II



TRACK, Betty Smith Ward

Renasia Brown                                Western International

Miya Mueller                                   Detroit International

Leacy Clipper                                  Cody Upper

Montana Flanagan                        M.L. King

Asha Lewis                                      Communication/Media Arts

Ashley Powell                                 Northwestern

Jasmine Stewart                             Cody Upper

Porscha Taylor                                Cody Upper

WINNING COACH:  Christopher Wright








VOLLEYBALL, Ruth L. Murray Award

Paola Camarena                             Western International

Jamia Daniel                                    Osborn College Preparatory

Ashley Dodson                                Detroit International

DuNae’ Goulbourne                      Renaissance

Gabrielle Hayes                              Communication/Media Arts

Ravenn Hill                                     Renaissance

Karla Nava-Lopez                         Southwestern

Tazzjia T. Martinez                       Pershing

Nakeadlia Mitchell                        Cody Upper

Denaishia Neff                                Crocket Technical

Ashley Powell                                 Northwestern

Kaila Wilcher                                  Cass Technical

WINNING COACH:  Edward Tomlin, Cass Tech



CO-ED DANCE, Dorothy S. Leace Award

Kay’shawna Harrison                   Detroit International Academy

This entry was posted in Boys, Girls, News and Press Releases, Sports and tagged .