Big D championship doubleheader to reveal Mr. and Ms. PSL basketball during halftime festivities today at U-D Mercy

The Detroit Public School League 2011-12 boys’ and girls’ basketball champions will be decided today, Thursday, Feb. 16, in an all-Pershing vs. King doubleheader finale of the Big D tournament at the University of Detroit Mercy’s Calihan Hall.

Marking a rarity and memorably a first in PSL history, the same two schools will wage battle for the girls’ and boys’ league basketball championships, with the girls tipping off at 5 p.m. and the boys at 7:30 p.m.
Admission is $10 and tickets can be purchased at the Calihan Hall box office.
Halftime festivities will include the announcement of the Mr. PSL and Miss PSL awards, representative of the league’s top boy and girl player as chosen by the league’s head coaches.
The PSL All-City team, listed below, will also be acknowledged.

DPSL All-City Boys’ Basketball Team
First team
Lloyd Neely, Crockett
Sherron Dorsey-Walker, Pershing
Malik Albert, King
Kendahl Amerson, Ford
Clark Bishop, Renaissance
Second team
Martez Asberry, Douglass
Kahlil Felder, Pershing
Dennis Norfleet, King
Martez Walker, Pershing
DeAndre Johnson, Cass
Third team
DeLandon Laye, Mumford
Dazeshawn Crim, Southeastern
Ralph Wildy, CMA
Eric Wise, Osborn
Terrance Byrd, Denby

DPSL All-City Girls’ Basketball Team
First team
Caprice Dennis, Pershing
Branndais Agee, Cass
Antania Hayes, King
Creiona Posey, Cody
Raven Bankston, Mumford
Second team
Jazmine Kimbrough, Southeastern
Tranee Jenkins, Western
Dominique Staten, Osborn
Yvonne Arlee, Ford
Shavarra Patton, Northwestern
Third Team
Theresa Thomas, Central
Kenshun Kendrick, Kettering
Regine Gullette, Crockett
Raine Bankston, Mumford
Beatrice Kiel, CMA

This entry was posted in Boys, Girls, News and Press Releases, Sports.