Detroit Public Schools announces board members appointed to new DPS-authorized Renaissance charter schools

Twenty-five community members, including parents, a police chief, judge and others, have been appointed to serve on the Board of Directors of the three new DPS-authorized charter schools, the district announced today as part of the its Renaissance 2012 plan.

The board members of the charter schools are public officials who swear a constitutional oath of office and are appointed by DPS Emergency Manager Roy Roberts.

The board appointments follow an extremely rigorous bidding and community vetting process, conducted in partnership with the National Association of Charter School Authorizers, in which DPS selected three charter operators with proven records of raising student achievement to run five new charter schools beginning in fall 2011 under the district’s Renaissance 2012 plan.

Charter school board members set policy, maintain the academy’s vision and/or mission, promote educational excellence through advocacy, visionary leadership, and high-quality services as well as ensure that the academy complies with its charter and all applicable laws. They also manage school resources, ensure effective organizational planning, support and review the performance of the school leader and education service provider, and maintain accountability.

DPS offered board introductory training sessions through the National Charter Schools Institute and accepted applications from the community as well as operator-nominated candidates. A committee comprised of district employees and Detroit Board of Education members reviewed candidate applications and conducted approximately 50 interviews to select a pool of pre-qualified board members.

Appointment to a DPS Public School Academy is contingent upon each applicant passing the same rigorous Criminal Background Check required of Detroit Public Schools employees.

The appointments, which commence the date upon which the oaths of public office are taken, are:

Board of directors of GEE Edmonson Academy: Dan Ringo, Michelle Allen, W. Barnett Jones, Archie Brown and John Young

Board of directors of GEE White Academy: Deborah Hunter-Harvill, Bassam Gobah, Ali Gabali, Jackqueline Lindsey and Abdo Norman

Board of directors of New Paradigm Loving Academy: Bridgette Johnson, Bridget Vance, Charles Cavell, Karl Robinson and Edward P. Cotton IV

Board of directors of EMAN Hamilton Academy: Mariola Mulrooney, Ola Elsaid, Bryan Howard, Judith Brantley and Brian Connor

Board of directors of New Paradigm Glazer Academy: Larry Lambert, Khalid Irvin, De’Angelo Alexander, Kathleen M. Howard and Jackie James

This entry was posted in Info News Center, News and Press Releases and tagged , .